• Home

Mississippi Library Association Statement Condemning Racism & Brutality


The Mississippi Library Association firmly believes in justice, equality, diversity and inclusion in our libraries, our communities and our country.  We not only believe in it, we expect it as part of our constitutional rights as citizens and human rights as people.  We abhor hatred, racism and brutality in any form.  The MIssissippi Library Association stands with the Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA), the American Library Association (ALA) and our related state associations in their condemnation of violence and racism towards black Americans and people of color.  Our libraries play a critical role in our communities not only as providers of services, programs and resources but as leaders and role models.  We must not remain silent nor inactive.  BCALA is correct when it encourages us to “be proactive not only when someone in our community is harmed, but preventative in anticipating historically sanctioned violence by participating in local efforts to counter racism and violence against black men and women.”


We encourage all libraries in the state to stand up against racism and brutality.  Serve your communities by providing education, resources, booklists and activities that enlighten people who harbor hate and fear against those different from themselves and who use violence to oppress others.

Not a MLA member?  Join Today!

To renew, change contact information or view the Membership Directory, please log-in to your profile.


02 Jun 2020 9:18 AM • Anonymous
02 Jun 2020 9:15 AM • Anonymous
02 Jun 2020 9:13 AM • Anonymous
02 Jun 2020 9:10 AM • Anonymous
02 Jun 2020 9:07 AM • Anonymous
02 Jun 2020 8:56 AM • Anonymous

Upcoming events

10 Jul 2020 11:00 AM • TBA
31 Aug 2020 •
13 Oct 2020 4:00 PM • Meridian, MS
04 Dec 2020 11:00 AM • MLC Main Meeting Room

Support MLA

Make a donation to MLA, sponsor our annual conference or support our scholarships.

current cover of ML

Mississippi Libraries (ISSN 0194-388X) is a quarterly, open access publication of the Mississippi Library Association.




MLA's mission is to provide professional leadership for the development, promotion, and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship in order to enhance learning and ensure access to information for all.

Office Hours:
Tuesday: 11:00am-5:00pm

Wednesday: 1:00pm-5:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am-5:00pm

PO Box 13687, Jackson MS 39236-3687 
Phone: 601-981-4586
Email: info@misslib.org


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software